top of page

The Curse Of Needing To Juice Up

My GoPiGo3 robot, Carl, has not yet celebrated his first birthday, and is now starting his third set of eight NiMH AA cells.

The prior two sets were EBL cells rated at 2800 mAh, and when they were new they delivered pretty close to 9.5 hours at 275mA draw to exhaustion. Carl started out using nearly 8 hours of playtime down to 1.075v per cell. After 100-150 cycles the playtime was down to three to four hours of playtime. (Current draw also went up to 318mA which took off one hour of play.)

I decided to try some Powerowl "2800mAh" cells this time. They are only delivering 2300 mAh (8th cycle), so I am getting a little more than 6 hours playtime.

All I can say at this point - EBL are better than Powerowl for my robot.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page